How to create Views in TIP and Control Access to it using Groups

The following steps will show how to create a Role, Group, View, and then add users to the group giving them access to the View in IBM Tivoli Integrated Portal for Impact and\or OMNIbus. 

Several of these steps can be completed in any order; this is only one way of going through the motions.

  1. Login to TIP as Tipadmin or with an account that has admin permissions.
  2. Create a new Role

    1. From the Menu in the left pain: Click on Users and Groups > Roles.

    2. Click New.
    3. Enter a Role Name.

      1. * If your Groups, Users, Views or Required pages are already created you can you can add them to the role here. 
    4. Click Save.
  3. Create a new Group

    1. From the Menu in the left pain: Click on Users and Groups > Manage Groups.
    2. Click Create.
    3. Add Group Name and Description then click Create.
    4. From the Menu in the left pain: Click on Users and Groups > Group Roles.
    5. Search for the new group and select it from the list.
    6. Uncheck all boxes and check the newly created role.
    7. Click save.
  4. Create a new View

    1. From the Menu in the left pain: Click Settings > Views.
    2. Click New.
    3. Enter a view name.
    4. Click on Roles with Access to this View and then Add.
    5. Select the newly created role from the list and click Add.
    6. Select the Role’s permission from the dropdown box.
    7. Click on Pages in this View and then Add.
    8. Select any Pages allowed in this View and click Add.
    9. Click Save.

      1. * To verify new View, select new view name from the dropdown box in the top left of the page.
  5. Add users to the Group.

    1. From the Menu in the left pain: Click Users and Groups > Manage Groups.
    2. Search for the new group and select it from the list.
    3. Click on the Members Tab.
    4. Click on Add Users (or Add Groups if you want to add existing groups).
    5. Search for a user (or group if you are adding groups), or list all by searching for *.
    6. Select users from the list and click Add.
    7. Selected users will now have access to the freshly created view.

      1. * Note, users will still have access to anything they had prior to being added to this group.
Category: 
Share: 

GuardianMS
Guarding your IT Experience!

Add new comment